JULY 8, 2010

Shane Erbst’s team took first place at the fourth annual 4th of July River Raft Race in Orofino.

Orofino’s Fourth of July River Raft Race a success

   Six teams, for a total of 23 participants, entered Orofino’s Fourth Annual Fourth of July Raft Race down the Clearwater River July 4. The race began above Greer and ended at the Orofino Bridge.

   Cash Prizes were given for first, second, and third place. Though some rafters participated just for fun, others took it very seriously.

   Shane Erbst was captain of the first place team, which was sponsored by Idaho Clearwater Adventures. Other team members were Josh Reed, Mike Stamper, Jake Hamilton and Brandon LaFayette. Erbst’s team finished in just one hour and 11 minutes and rowed away with $100 in Chamber Cash.

   Second place went to Captain Stormy Patton’s team of Vaughn Patton, Dustan Waldrop and Jaime Steadman, who won $50 in Chamber Cash for their time of one hour and 23 minutes.

   Captain Carl Young led his team of Kelly Hunt, Ryan Maynor, Lisa Knowles and Doug Ahrendsen to third place with a time of one hour 39 minutes. They shared $25 in Chamber Cash.

   Cash sponsors of the event were Clearwater Crossing RV Park, Best Western Lodge at River’s Edge and Glenwood Carwash. All cash donations were greatly appreciated and make for a fun and competitive event.

   All proceeds from the entry fees went to help fund the fireworks show, which was spectacular this year. 


Carl Young’s raft race team fights to stay ahead of Shane Erbst’s team during the fourth annual 4th of July River Raft Race in Orofino. Young’s team placed third, while Erbst’s placed first.