MAY 27, 2010

15 Years Ago

   Steven Lombard Jr. of Weippe is one of Clearwater County’s newest published authors with his first book, The Legend of Sunshine Forest. Lombard wrote and illustrated the fantasy story for children from 5-12 years old.

   Orofino Rotary Club joined with Lewiston, Moscow, Pullman, Lewiston Orchards and Sunrise clubs to purchase and outfit an ambulance for Cananea Sonora, Mexico. Cananea is a city of about 18,000.  The ambulance purchased was recently used as a work truck and with help from local merchants was refurbished and outfitted for Mexico.

   Orofino High School Girls’ Softball Varsity Team members are Anissa Pevehouse, Lori Gunsolous, Brook Doman Wilmarth, Lindsay Hanna, Mandy Hole, Andrea Schenk, Sarah Manfull, Shannon Johnston, Keither Freeman, Stacy Sutton and Rachell Freeman. The team is coached by Kurt Savage.

20 Years Ago

   Orofino High School Girls’ Track Team members are Lisa Stanley, Mickie Wilson Space, Kim Steinbruecker, Carla Terherst, Suzanne Nazari, Colete Anderson, Heidi Summers, Briana Steinbruecker, Lydgia Anderson, Tilley Bonney, Trena Cook and Kristina Hall.

   New inductees into the Timberline High School Honor Society for 1989-90 are Debbie Rhoades, Michelle Dobson, Jon Woods, Micki Rukavina and Ruth Rhoades.

   Timberline High School Student Body Officers for the 1989-90 school year are Cory Brown, Kelly Tschida and Tanya Hobart.

   Tim and Brenda Clelland are the parents of a son, Dustin Troy, born May 21. He joins twin sisters Brittani and Danille, four-years-old. Grandparents are Ralph and Barbara Lacey and Cliff and Mary Clelland.

25 Years Ago

   Timberline High School Honor Students for the 1985 class are Ann Bennett, valedictorian and Lori Morris, salutatorian.

   The 1985 Lumberjack Days Royalty were chosen Saturday night. Chosen queen was Denise Bunch; first princess was Barbie Johnson and second princess Jill Ross.

   Graduating from Boise State University were Julie Lougee Enyeart, Cindy Leigh Shriver and William T. Bresshears.

   The Orofino High School Boys’ Track Team claimed their second straight regional title in Moscow.  Team members are Shayne Heine, Tim Beck, Dan Richardson, Jeff Farley, Doug Case, Doug Stuffle, Rick Kom, Jason Grindall, Dave Hughan, Adam Sharrai, Brent Furston, Steve Lee, and Ron Richardson.

40 Years Ago

   Jim McGoldrick set an A-2 high school discus record at Twin Falls with a toss of 176 ft. 5 inches. Mike Bessent won first in the state meet in the mile run.

45 Years Ago

   Award ceremonies at the U of I honored eight Orofino students as members of honorees and top service groups. Named were Joe Goffinett, Linda Werner, Terry Gough, John Pederson, Pat McCollister, Ann Cartwright, Kitty Collins and Vicki Green.

50 Years Ago

   PFI Wanigan shoved off from the Camp T area this week for the 29th annual log drive down the North Fork with Red McCollister as foreman.

75 Years Ago

   Excavation for the new Ahsahka school house was started. The original school burned last fall. The new school is being financed through insurance and a bond issue. 

85 Years Ago

   The 250 lock private mail boxes maintained by the local post office have all been in use for some time now, and to meet additional demand 50 more have been purchased.