MAY 13, 2010

5 Years Ago

   Orofino High School’s graduating class of 2005 has three valedictorians and two salutatorians. Valedictorians are Amy Huffman, Brian Crecelius and Philip Nedoma. Salutatorians are J.Z. Savage and Eric Morin.

   The Golden Key International Honor Society recognized Amanda Dell as being in the top 15 percent of her graduating class in the recent University of Idaho Honors Convocation.

20 Years Ago

   Orofino Insurance Agent, Neal Johnson of Walrath Insurance Agency, Inc. will be installed as president of the Idaho Professional Insurance Agents at the Red Lion, Riverside in Boise.

   Kenneth C. Weller, a graduating senior at Orofino High School and son of Kaye Weller and Kenneth J. Weller, both of Orofino, is one of 500 finalists in the 1990 Presidential Scholars program.

   Debbie Hodges, Pierce, was chosen as the 1860 Days Queen for 1990. Heidi Supple, Weippe, was first runner-up and Marina Jared was second runner-up.

   Orofino JV baseball team members are Bill Bunch, Trapper Stewart, Ron Sutton, Ken Roughton, Josh Goodwin, Brian Reggear, Todd Johnston, Michael Kessinger, David Roeder, Dwayne Call, John Stewart, Richie Litostansky, Brian Corder, Ray Fuentes and Chad Tondevold.

   Top students for the 1990 Orofino High School graduating class are Katie Eichert, valedictorian and Neal Eby and Ken Weller, co-salutatorians.

   Honor students for Timberline High School 1990 graduating class are Roger Allen Wise, valedictorian and Pamela Jean Fish, salutatorian.

   Doug and Steve Crockett, owners and George Casteel, manager of Grangeville Builders Supply will hold a Grand Opening May 18 at Grangeville Builders Supply.

25 Years Ago

   Timberline High School girls’ track team members are Nicole Young, Angela Willis, Mindy Wright, Kylen Wendt, Angie Broadbent, Lisa Stebbens, Dorinda McKinley, Becky Smolinski, Lisa Hudson, Ann Bennett, Andrea Schlader, Janet Brown, Lori Morris, and Julie Lougee.

   Alex Stackhouse is one of the two high school students from Northern Idaho to attend the R.E.A. 1985 Youth Seminar as a Clearwater Power representative, and will serve as a youth advisor.

   The Orofino High School girls’ softball team took third place at state tournament in Coeur d’Alene last weekend. Team members are Tonya Shamion, Malia Leaton, Michelle Corder, Lisa Isaacks, Tammy Perrin, Jennifer Lambrecht, Angie Ponozzo, Michelle Isaacks, Debbie Hester, Teri Zierlein, Tara Bainbridge, Laura Walters, Erica Kludt, Julie Delaney and Shannon Tuning.

   Members of the National Honor Society at Orofino High School are Jill Ross, Lisa Call, Natalie Leonard, Briana Wargi, Melissa Teats, Curt Steiner, Julie Delaney, Laurie Fix, Dave Schwartz, Alex Stackhouse, Jeff Farley, Doug Adams, Brian Roy, Jerry Skinner, James Edelblute, Kevin Gale, Dale Lentz and Nels Kludt.

45 Years Ago

   Don Halbmaier, industrial arts teacher at Orofino High School, has been named Orofino Jaycees Outstanding Educator in Orofino.

   A ten foot rise in the North Fork to 24 feet and similar gains in the main river marked the heaviest early snow melt in several years, with all area streams running full bank.

55 Years Ago

   Sub normal temperatures kept the Clearwater River streams at record low levels during March and brought the April snow course measurement of water to 10% of normal.

80 Years Ago

   Fire broke out in the Pierce Grade School building at 9:15 p.m. following the explosion of an oil stove in the lunch room. The grade school and gymnasiums were totally destroyed, causing a loss of $26,000 without equipment. The new high school, constructed at a cost of $27,000 was in danger for awhile.

   Construction through use of federal funds on a portion of the Greer-Kamiah link of the Lewis-Clark Highway will be undertaken sometime in 1935, according to the district highway department.