MAY 6, 2010

15 Years Ago

   Barbara Cramer and James Thomas will be married in the Orofino Methodist Church April 8.

   The Orofino Junior High School eighth grade girls’ basketball team placed first at the Culdesac Tournament. Team members are JeNeen Larsen, Evie Baker, Sally Joye, Amanda Lott, Louise Bruce, Kesha Humston, Janine Lawrence, Leslie Laam, Tansi Pederson, Stephanie Ford, Tiffany Perrin and Lisa Johnston.

   Seaman Apprentice Sarah L. Thornton graduated from the Cape May, N.J. Training Center, U.S. Coast Guard. Sarah’s parents are Carl and RoseAnn Thornton of Pierce.

25 Years Ago

   Honor students at Orofino High School for the class of 1985 are Kimberly Lyn Carey, valedictorian and Tamara Sue Perrin, salutatorian.

   New student body officers at Orofino High School are Mark Ponozzo, president; Keith Stuffle, treasurer; Dale Lientz, vice president and Stacey Ponozzo, secretary.

   Clearwater Forest says 10 to 20 camping units will be added to the over crowded Aquarius Camp area on the North Fork. Proposals include use of Isabelle Creek landing area or use of a spot on Dog Creek.

30 Years Ago

   Timberline High School’s top students are Ron Reagan, son of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Leeper, valedictorian, and Linda Larson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Elgin Larson, salutatorian.

   Laura Halmaier with a perfect 4.0 grade average is valedictorian of the Orofino High School class of 1980. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Don Halbmaier. Salutatorian is Lori White, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James White.

   Choral students from Orofino High School winning ratings at the Lewiston music festival were Kim Jones, Amy Dixon, Pam Bartman, e’Lane Grasser, George Duncan, Carrie Cuddy, and Cynthia Bittleston.

   Orofino High School is having a highly successful baseball season. Team members are Jim Firzlaff, John Dempsey, Rob Wright, Galen Kuykendall, Tim Simpson, Pat Kelly, Steve Horton, Bob Coke, Mike Dempsey, Joe Cornu, Chris Snyder, Keith Johnston, Luke Aldrich, Gary Morgan, Jeff Wright and Chris Simpson.

35 Years Ago

   Sue Blenden has succeeded Helen Chenoweth as North Side Clinic Manager, with the latter becoming State Republican Committee director at Boise.

   Happy winners of the Valley Recreation Kawasaki sit-a-ton were Rebecca Cleto and Laura Walker. The win for the Orofino High School girls came after 61 hours, 55 minutes. They were awarded the motorcycle upon which they sat for over two days.

   Orofino Volunteer Fire Department received the Governor’s “Keep Idaho Green” award of the 1979 fire season. The nomination for the award came from the fire warden of Clearwater-Potlatch Timber Protection Association. The award was presented to Elbert Snyder, Orofino Fire Chief.

40 Years Ago

   Susan Spencer and JoAnn Konkol earned top scholastic honors among graduating seniors at Orofino High School.

   Mike Bessent added the OHS mile to his list this week with a 4.05.5 a half second better than Bob Hamilton in 1967.

   Sam Bacharach is the new sports editor of the Lewiston Tribune.

65 Years Ago

   Lillie Margaret Snyder became the bride of Gordon Thiessen at the Methodist Church.

   The Idaho Game commission has set up 35,000 for a bounty payment on adult coyotes and bobcats.

70 Years Ago

   Dent’s population from the new census shows 50 farms and 172 people.