APRIL 15, 2010

10 Years Ago

   Timberline Judo Club members were in Emmett and Caldwell recently for tournament action. Participating were Dustin Hodges, Kaden Jared, Kendrick Jared, Tanner Jared, Megan Vanderpas, Kayla Hodges, Hilaree Vanderpas and Lucas Maki.

   Timberline Junior High girls attended an AAU basketball tournament in Lewiston.  Players attending were Kelsey Cochrell, Lynanne Tilley, Kaylin Daniels, Jordon Jared, Skye Fisher, Catrina Erickson, Cody Carver and Lindsay Maki. The girls were coached by Kathy Daniels.

   The Orofino fifth and sixth grade girls’ basketball team placed third among 10 other teams at a tournament at Cottonwod. Team members were Amber Keith, Heather Claunch, Whitney Richardson, Brittany Blewett, Jamie Kreag, Capri Savage and Jessica Roby. The team was coached by Pat Richardson.

25 Years Ago

   Six Orofino High School students placed among the top 10 speakers in the state. They are Denny Reinhardt, Donnette Kessinger, Ed Moore, David Lambourne, Tony Bush and Geoff Abrams.

   The Gift Gallery is celebrating its 10th anniversary.

   A four-year scholarship was awarded to Edward Moore. OHS senior, He was notified that he is a recipient of an Air Force ROTC four-year scholarship

30 Years Ago

   Mike Walrath is captain of the traffic patrol at the Orofino Elementary School assisted by Spencer Newland, Brianna Wargi and Chuck Brumley.

    Orofino High School outstanding speakers  placing  in  State Finals and State Semi-Finals are Laurie Tribe, semi-finals, in after dinner speechs; Michelle Ziwisky, fourth place in Original Oratory and Patricia Masar, semi-finals in serious interpretive rereading.

   Dale Richardson was granted a conditional use permit to construct a saw mill on the newly rezoned property on Williams Island.

35 Years Ago

   Voters approved 212 to 124 to rezoning in District 171 to give more equal voting representation. Areas opposed were Cavendish, Pierce and Weippe.

   Boat owners on Dworshak Reservoir are suffering log hazards as the State Environmental Quality Agency declines to issue burning permits for disposal of pool debris.

   A span of the old Myrtle Bridge was hauled to provide an improved crossing to Big Canyon Creek at Peck.

   Peck City donated property has been given to the school and the community for an outdoor conservation laboratory.

40 Years Ago

   Timberline Youth delegates are Janice Coon, Mike Tinsley and Kenneth Derrick.

50 Years Ago

   Joan Heideman and Charlotte Gillespie are top honor students at OHS. Sisters Laura and Emma Lou White won scholastic honors at Weippe.

55 Years Ago

   City of Orofino has issued a deed to the State of Idaho for a new armory adjacent to the airport with provision of return of land to the city if armory usage should cease.