MARCH 11, 2010

10 Years Ago

    Roy Clay is retiring as mayor of the City of Orofino. He has seen some tremendous changes during his time as mayor and councilman. Clay was first elected to the city council in 1970. He spent four years on the council before running for mayor. Clay has served the people for five years on the council and 20 years as mayor.

   Orofino Mayor Joe Pippenger recently honored Justin Hollibaugh, Mathew Jones and Alvin Cutler for their part in rescuing Phyllis Bovey after her vehicle left U.S. Highway 12 and plunged into a pond near Hidden village.

15 Years Ago

   Dave Schwartz and Tammy Joersz will be married April 8 at the Orofino Tabernacle.

   Orofino High School Wrestling team members are Jamie Hubbard, Kelley Waggener, Mike Aarstad, Jim Aarstad, Mike Forrest, David Clark, Sam Baumer, Justin Peterson, Stephen Kessinger. Josh Simonsen, Cort Anderson, Casey Waggener, Nathan Manfull, Lee Steiner, Chris Steiner, Chris Bennett, Mike Leach, Lindsay Shriver, Ross Williams and Tanner Downing.

   The Weippe Middle School girl’s volleyball team won the CVH Tournament. Janice Aragon is the girl’s coach and the team members are Corina Hutchins Billups, Kelly Thomas, Autumn Kinston, Lindsay Hartig, April Jo Miller, Diana Robinett, Amber Kingston, Danette Brown, Sebrina Childers, Cassie McIntosh, Jenna Myers, Kathy Bolz, Dawn Hutchins, and Sienna Rivers.

30 Years Ago

   Several Orofino businessmen returned Friday from Boise where they gave testimony in support of locating the Idaho State Women’s Prison in State Hospital North buildings. Making the trip were Nick Chenoweth, Keith Hanson, Dennis Abrams, Marv Lambrecht, Mel Spelde and Dennis Thompson.

  The Board of Clearwater County Commissioners denied the subdivision of Paradise Properties citing the lack of adequate access.

  Surprising nearly everyone in the Central Idaho League, the Timberline Spartans had a highly successful season tying for second in the league and doing well in district tournament play. Team members are Mike McMillian, Dave Lycan, Mitch Stuart, Ron Reagean, Ron Beigh, Bill Bolen, Fred Triplett, Mitch Jared, Jeff Kiely, Kris Bonner, and Brian Bies.  Buck Garritson was their coach.

   Youth Legislature delegates from Orofino High School will be taking a bill to the legislature in April dealing with atomic waste in Idaho. Students going are Kolleen Bray, Ron Miller, Chris Simpson, DeAnn Arnholtz, Laura Halbmier, and Sue Craft.

35 Years Ago

  Mae Schultz and Caryn Abrams shared duties for Beta Sigma Phi in presenting the First Lady of the Year Award to Laurella Miller for her many community services.

40 Years Ago

   Harvest of Clearwater forest timber hit an all-time record at 209.8 million feet last year.

   Mellisa Greene and Holly Spencer will attend Girls State from Orofino High School this year.

60 Years Ago

   The eight year old Pierce Community Center burned to the ground Feb. 19. The building has been purchased from L.P. Lepka and originated the Pierce Boys Club. A defective horizontal flue may have been responsible for the fire.

  Johnson Motors won the county gas contract with a price of 22.65 cents for regular gas.

   Bonnie Adams was crowned “Sweetheart of O.H.S.” at the Pep Club dance. Princesses were Betty Brown and Joanne Hutchinson.